Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Some people state that always telling the truth is the most important element in relationship because relationship between people is build on trust and that we can not trust someone telling lies or being trusted telling lies. The beliefs might seem perfect but it is actually a bit impractical in the real world. In some situations, we should also take people's feelings and the consequences after telling the truth into consideration.

For instance, in the work office, assume your boss did a wrong dicision and fail to earn any money from the investment this year. As the result, the boss cut everyone's salary to compensate the loss of the company. Obviously, your boss surely did an awful thing and make everyone being punished with him but it would be inappropriate to point that out and criticize him or her, even though that's a truth. If you did so, although you might be honest about the desaster, the consequence might be losing your job instantly. The best way to deal with this probably is to not say anything and work as usual.

Sometimes, we also need to consider other's feelings, especially for the closest one's. For example, when someone really close, like a really good friend, ask you about how you think about his or her essay that he or she put a lot of efforts in. Even if the article is far from good, it would be mean to say something negative or critical. You would hurt his or her feelings and he or she might not talk to you anymore if you choose to tell him or her the truth. In this case, complete honesty could cause your friend to suffer or even leads to end of friendship.

Futhermore, though it might be extreme, there are some situations that prohibit people from telling the truth. Tech company, for example apple, would make their employees to sign a paper about promise to protect the intellectual propperties of the company. The press are alway curious about these unrevail secrets of apple and do all they can do to fetch news from apple's employees. If the employees of apple answer to the press and told anything about the unrelease products of the company they would not only lose their jobs but also face several lawsuits. And facing apple in the court would be hell.

It is true that we need to tell the truth to build relationship with people. However, in some situation, complete honesty could hurt people's feelings or cause irrevocable consequences. It is better to think twice whether it is accepted by others before telling the truth.