It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Facts are things that around us and exist for sure and these are one of the essential parts in our life. Many people think these are the keys, however, the ideas and concepts, which come from our minds are even more important than that. It is true that compared with concepts, facts are easier to understand and that is why teachers always teach first. But concepts are what changes the world not facts.

Facts are facts and it is easy to accept it without questioning it. For example, most people accepted that earth is flat and that we would fall from the edge if we kept sailing to a certain direction. Almost everyone took it for granted as if it is true from the beginning, until scientists came up with an idea that earth is actually a round object and proved it successfully. While, at one time, most people argued that flat earth is a fact that could not be deny, at last, the so-called facts failed to survive in the debate. If we do not truly understand why facts are facts, we might believe in the false facts.

Besides, all the facts around us could once be a concept that came out of one's head. Take smartphone for example, iPhone was invented in the late 2000s and it totally changed the way we interacted with machine and it was a huge step for human. However, if we simply accepted the fact that phones could only been a medium for texting and calling, then there would be no smartphone right now. Sometimes, the concepts that callenges the facts that we once accepted might bring us a better world.

Last but not least, we can not judge things just by the the fact we trust. sometime, the sentences in the court made by judges could be quite various depend on the stories behind the scenes. For example, if a desperate mom stole some food in the mall in order to feed her dying baby, the judge could possibly diminish the punishment based on the idea that the mother was not evil and did something atrocious. How and why things happened is so important that can sometimes change the way we see things.

Due to the reasons above, I think knowing facts is the basic thing, but truly understand the ideas and concepts is far beyond. After all, ideas are what keep the world progess not the facts.