Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

I was wondering how hard it was to live in the 1930s when my grandparents were children. It is difficult to imagine life without wi-fi or any other device we have nowadays. For me, it must be painful and also boring living a life like that. As my grandparents, who lived in a small village in the countryside, said, when they were kids, televisions, phones, or even radios were so rare that families with average income could not afford. They always reminds me that I live in a life with so many resources that they think it is almost too comfortable for us and that we should be grateful for.

Surely, it was during post-war period back then when my grandparents were neonates. We were being conquered by Japan at the time, which contributed to limited resources in the whole country, including lack of fresh water, lack of electron, and most severely, lack of food. Even rice, our major food, were not enough for a family with four people. Things could not possibly be worse if you could not live.

Moreover, cables were not spreaded out most of the country, not to mention internet, which was not even invented yet. People found it hard to received information or make any communications. People could not make a video call by a single tap and swipe just like us. They need to write letters to communicate with each others. Every single reply could take weeks compared with seconds these days. Or if they want to see each other, they had to write a letter to make an appointment and then take a bus to the meeting site, which was a painstaking work. life was far from comfortable in the 1930s for sure.

Last but not least, the laws back then were not enough to protect the labor force. Many people died because of working day and night without resting. Besides, the priority of the government was trying to rebuild the army and protect our country. The safety of labor force was not on the list. The workers did not have the rights to speak for themselves if they were being treated unfairly.

We can easily make a conclusion that life was not anything easy or comfortable seventy or eighty years ago due to limited food, less convenience, and incomplete laws. Come to think of it, how could anyone consider a life easy and comfortable if they could hardly survive the day.