Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Compare sports and social activities with classes and libraries would be a bit unfair because they are all essential part of the school life. But still, sports and social activities are off-class activities and they are not as important as classes and libraries, which are the main components of learning in college.

The main reason students get into college is to learn academic skills, research for knowledge, and find a career path. Classes and libraries are the two parts that can help students to achieve these gaols. And these things are critical for every person and not available in later life. No one would think that sports and socail activities are more critical for one's life path so classes and libraries sould get more financial support.

From another viewpoint, social activies like groups and clubs are the fun parts of life of college. If school put the same effort in these fun parts as in the academic field, that would be a wrong attempt. For exemple, renewing class equipments, hiring new professor and updating new series of books in libraries may needs millions of money. The same amount of money would be too much for clubs and groups. It would be a waste.

Although some would argue that Sports may be benefitial for students' health, sports could be done at any time, even after school life ended. One can do sports like running and playing basketball for a whole life span, but classes and libraries are hard to reach once you graduate. That is why students should put more focus on improving academic skills in classes and libraries before crushing into plenty of works. And the meanwhile, schools should put more fund in classes and libraries to elevate teaching quality for students.

Considering less importance that sports and social activities are and less financial needs, they should probably not recaive same amount of money as classes and libraries.