Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For a long time, cars has been part of our everyday life. Many people use cars for transportation. They drive to school or drive to work by daily basis. And because the population on earth is still growing speedily, the needs for cars could be at a much higher level in the next twenty years. That is why, in my opinion, there should be more cars on the roads in the foreseeing future.

Although there are mass transportation services in the city, which could possibly reduce number of the cars in use in some places, there are still many places where metro system or bus can not reach, especially in the suburban area. Additionally, the growing population not only happens in the country but also in the city. that cause more needs for living place and consequently brings the rent price to a higher place. And unacceptable rent price force more and more people moving from the city to the suburban area. Without the supports of the downtown subway system, they need to buy a car for transportation. As long as the problems exist, there are going to be more people driving.

The relatively lower car price also help the trend. car makers, like Toyota, are work their best to reduce the cost by introducing automatic production, which means produce cars by robots. The prevalent use of robots make the car price being at a lower price compare with the price twenty years before. As more people can afford the price of a car, more cars would be sold. In fact, over twenty million cars were sold last year and still growing at a steady speed.

Moreover, autopilot systems were being developed and embedded in cars. In the next twenty years, the self drive mode would be installed in most of the cars being sold. Driving on roads will be much easier and safer than today. Even those who do not drive would want to buy a car and let the car drive by itself.

The number of cars in use will probably not be fewer but more than today due to reasons above. Although, we do not know exactly what things may happen in the future, many market analysis support the statement that there will be more demand of cars for sure. And what might also interest us is that how many car sale will increase in twenty years?