Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children

I was wondering how hard it was to live in the 1930s when my grandparents were children? It is difficult to imagine live without wifi or any other device we have nowadays. It must be painful and also boring. my grandparents lived in a small village in the countryside. They always reminds me that I live in a live with so many resources that they think it is too comfortable for us.

Surely, it was during post-war period back then when my grandparents were kids. We were being conquered by japan at the time, which means that we could only shared limited resources after most of the food were being exported to japan. Even rice, our major food, were not enough for a family with four people. Things could not be worse if you could not live.

Moreover, wifi or even internet was not invented yet. People could not make a video call by a single tap and swipe just like us. they need to write letters to communicate with each others. Every single reply could take weeks compared with seconds these days. Or if they want to see each other, they had to write a letter to make an appointment and then take a bus to the meeting site. Life was far from comfortable in the 1930s.

Last but not least, the laws back then were not enough to protect the labor force. Many people died because of working day and night without resting. Besides, the priority of the government was trying to rebuild the army and protect our country. The safety of labor force was not on the list. The workers did not have the rights to speak for themselves if they were being treated unfairly.

We can easily make a conclusion that life was not easy or comfortable when seventy or eighty years ago due to imited food, less convenience, and incomplete laws. Come to think of it, how could anyone consider a life easy and comfortable if they could hardly survive the day.