Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Facts are things that around us and exist for sure. It is important to acknowledge all the facts. Also, what comes from our minds is important. The ideas and concepts are how things were being the way they are. The problem is that which is more important and critical than the other. For me, I think that the ideas and concepts are much more important than facts and the followings are the reasons why I think this way.

Facts are facts and it is easy to accept it without questioning it. For example, most people acccepted that earth is flat and that we would fall from the edge if we kept sailing to a certain direction. Almost everyone took it for granted as if it it true from the begining, until scientists came up with an idea that earth is actually a round object and proved it successfully. Why and how to prove that earth is like a ball but a flat object is more important because that what we see as a fact could be wrong if we do not truely understand the ideas and concepts behind it.

Additionally, all the facts around us could once be a concept. Take smartphone for example, iPhone was invented in the late 2000s and it changed the way we interacted with machine. Before iPhone was introduced, no one actually produced this kind of device. The fact that we could swipe and tap on the phone was not even exist back then. It was the concepts that first came out then the facts being materialized. without the ideas, the fact might not be a fact.

Last but not least, we can not judge things just by the the fact. Sometime, the sentences in the court made by judges could be quite various due to the stories behind the scenes. If a desperate mom stole some food in the mall in order to feed her baby, the judge diminish the degree of the punishment. How and why things happened is so important that can not be ignored.

Due to the reasons above, I think knowing facts is the basic thing, but truly understand the ideas and concepts is far beyond. After all, ideas are what keep the world progess not the facts.