Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Some says that it would be better to have broad knowledge than to specialize in a single one. but the truth is that people would have a better career if he or she perform excellent in a narrower field. And many evidences show that people with a broad but shallow knowledge tend to fail in the future.

In order to be successful and competitive, teachers always tell students that they need to find something they are really interested in and try to go deep in that area. For example, if a person find himself enjoy painting, more than any other things, he would be better to focus in art. After spending great amount of time cultivating, he might possibly be an excellent artist. what encouraged him was the passion that made him who he is.

Besides, it would be difficult for almost anyone to concentrate outside his or her comfort zone. which means that if someone choose any subject that he or she might not perform great or simply not interested in, then he or she might not even find a effective way of learning. Concequently, he or she would probably wasting time struggling in many subjects.

Additionally, many people would be surprised that there are many successful CEO that are not good at many baisc things, including English. Take Terry Kuo as an example, he is the CEO of one of the laeding manufacturer in cellphones and computers. What really interesting is that despite his successful in management he is not good at speaking, especially in front of people. There are many times that he struggled to speak a complete sentence to the reporters fluently. And it is obvious that the deficient in speaking does not stop him from leading a company, which stands on the top 100 lagest companies in the world.

Due to the reasons above, specialize in a specific subject would be better than to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects. As many people say, choose what you love and take a step further.