Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Throughout our lives, we have seen the truth and lies as a common disjunction. Some people stand for always speaking the truth, while others justify specific lies in certain contexts. In terms of reliability and loyalty, deciding how to go ahead in some cases is critical since there is a scale of values or a sense of ethics to respect. Putting all points of view in order, I think that telling the truth and acting so is such a key reason in any human relationship. I state some main arguments below.

Some people consider that white lies or lies to avoid hurting others are valid. However, the truth is always discovered. In this regard, we should see that any statement we say can be contrasted to reality and facts. As a result, any comment or idea should have a reliable basis to be mentioned and maintained. If people disregard that condition, their reliability will be at risk as well as their reputation.

Secondly, honesty is a value by itself. The latter means that anyone can believe in the counterparty to start a relationship, whatever that can be: partnership or friendship. In friends and relatives of mine, I often check whether the other part is honest. It can sound a bit strange, though. To rate their truth, sometimes I ask something miscellaneous but relevant and later I check if there is consistency in his or her speech. All in all, it was pretty worthy, especially when I was about to tell a secret. However, I lost a friend because he was fibber and dishonest in a relevant issue.

The third point is about my personal experience. I started a small business three years ago as a capitalist partner – the part who mainly invested in the enterprise -, and a closer friend of mine became the manager. In the beginning, everything was according to our expectations: sales and costs were fine. At the end of the first year, and days before issuing the financial statements, my friend behaved strangely and I found some past due bills. I investigated in the accounting practices, and I discovered that my friend was leaking some funds, and inventing some sales to inflate revenues. As a result, I lost a business partner, a friend, and an emerging business. If I had known the truth from the start, I would have done that business differently, adding more controls and even another partner.

In short, according to my background, I prefer acting correctly as much as possible. My friends and relatives keep that in mind. Reliability and honesty are both important considerations in any relationship.