It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

During our social life we experience many remarkable moments with family and friends. I expect that the best memories anyone has are related to them. In my opinion, friends are the family we have elected. In this regard, some people think that friends have to be preserved and maintained throughout one’s entire life. On the other hand, many others consider that any stage deserves different friends, and they simply make friends. According to my experience, I prefer making new friends. Some reasons are stated below.

First, it is clear that any step in any life represents such a direct opportunity to make new friends. As we cannot stop our stages, it is almost obvious to see new people. For instance, when we begin a new course or we change our job, we are likely to have the opportunity to find partners and mates to share new experiences. Then, refusing to make friends is strange; it simply happens. A lot of people are friend seekers, however, I believe that great people, who make you feel good, should not be disregarded. For instance, I met my group of best friends in high school, but I do not discard making more.

Second, it is important to recognize that people come and go in our lives. This means that it is difficult for a friendship to last forever since the paths often separate. During the lived stages we are going to cross with different people, and this is a clear example that we can make new friends. For the rest, as we get older we need new people from distinct backgrounds: possibly we call for friends, lawyers, doctors or experts in certain things. The larger our groups, the easier it will be for us to solve certain problems together with others.

The third point is about my personal experience. I met my best friend when I was a child, I met my wife at high school and my most interesting group of friends appeared in my life at college, some few years ago. In any step I have met incredible people, and my steps are still going on. In other words, I have not even met my future friends. Then, I don’t know if my list of friends is full, nevertheless, it is not closed. It does not mean that my old friends and contacts are candidates to be forgotten.

In a nutshell, there is no reason to disregard the beautiful opportunity to make new friends. To sum up, many pros are evident in increasing our group of friends.