Pets should be treated like family members. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons to support your opinion.

Animals and pets have taken part in societies since our ancient civilizations. For instance, Egyptians admired cats, for example, remarkable Faraons (like Cleopatra) adopted them; Aztecs personified in jaguars their outstanding warriors, and Hindi consider cows as holy animals. In some jurisdictions, pets are subjects of rights and responsibilities for owners. In this regard, our common sense tells us that pets are not just things or stuff. According to my background and current status, I consider that pets ought to be treated like any family member. Some arguments are cogently explained below.

First, any pet is a source of duties and responsibilities. Then, family members have to care for them as well as invest or waste in their needs. For example, owners who have pets are willing to pay for pet's healthcare, food, and even clothes or special features. In this regard, there is no objection to see them as family members. Going ahead, most people travel with their pets in airplanes, visit shopping centers with them, and when it is not possible, they pay for hotels to avoid pet's solitude. I'm quite sure that most owners maintain that pets are as important as children; what's more, they sometimes call them son or daughter.

Secondly, it is a commonplace that pets are a full source of cuteness and love. Pets love a proper treatment, and to please them is not complicated or unaffordable. My dog is not only lovely but also aware of that. In fact, he only needs individual cookies and a daily long walk to be happy. Family's retribution is utterly greater than the sacrifices we do. As a matter of fact, my dog protects us, makes us happy, and makes us remember that simple things are better. My mother frequently asks me about my pet, and she does so before asking about my daughter - her blood family member.

Third, and according to our demographic instance, we can see that many young couples have pets. The reasons are very varied, but some are remarkable. A lot of people avoid or postpone pregnancy; others are directly and unfortunately infertile; others are gays, and their options to give birth or adopt are small; others want to reduce life cost and decide to start a family with a pet instead of having kids. Those options are mostly standard. However, all of them lead to see families with pets. So, pets are their passion and fulfillment in some cases. Moreover, we can recall retired people who decided to start a new stage with a pet since children are living their own lives. Considering pets as family members is a valid and even justified decision.

In short, treating pets like family members is valid and even positive. They protect us, entertain us, relax us. In many cases are the only way to have an inconditional friend; in others, it is just a personal preference we should not disagree.