Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment - doing things they like to do - rather than doing things they should do.

In the past few years, people spent more and more time on things for fun. And there are several signs to indicate this trend. Many of them came from the development of technologies. As the technologies progress, there are much more distractions around us, compare with decades ago.

For example, with high performance of the processor within the smartphone, we can do a lot of things, which we can not imagine back then. Shopping on the phone was never easier than today. we can swipe and tap on the screen to shop almost everything you want in anywhere. You do not even have to get up from bed to order a dress from China. And this also cause a big problem. With this kind of convenience, people tend to count on their phone more and more. And just as the many analysis agree, most of the time people spent on their phone were not for work.

The popularity of social networks could also supports the idea of people spending too much time doing things for personal enjoyment. It is not hard to find that many people enjoy their second life on Facebook. Hundreds of selfies, thousands of clips were being upload to Facebook per minute. Moreover, according to researches being published recently, the number of the so-called creators was growing insanely. More and more people waste their time taking pictures of themselves or of the food everyday. What could be worse is that this situation are somewhat getting severe after Instagram was introduced to the public in the 2010s.

Additionally, working time was being reduced by the law due to the improvement of the environment for labor force. This did not help the situation at all. The reduction of working time means the growing of off-work time. What people do in their off-work time are not anything other than being relax.

So, due to the reasons above, I may assume that people surely waste too much time on somethings that are not productive. The ubiquitous of internet along with social network and smartphone make our life more entertain. But it brings us to a dangerous self-indulgence ground that might not be reversible.