People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment - doing things they like to do - rather than doing things they should do."

Personal enjoyment is necessary for any person. But it should not be at the cost of other things. I would agree with this statement that now a days people spend more time in doing the things they like to do instead of the things they should do. There are few reasons that a person should not spend much time on the personal enjoyment.

On of the main reason is that the peronal enjoyment things may cost huge money . There are a wide range of activities a person can do for personal enjoyment like painting, going to movie, doing adventurous things like kayaking, sailing, hiking, skiing etc. These activities are not cheap. Their equipments, registration fees costs a person large amount of mone. For example one of my friend is fond of skiing. In winter he goes to go for various places in the world for sking. He does skiing for only fun and entertainmet. The tickets for traveling to various countries and fees for sking cost him so much that he has to take loans from friends. So personal enjoyment is good but until certain limits and only when it is in your budget.

The other reason is that the things which we like to do costs time as well. When we are doing the thing which is our hobby, we simply loose the track of the time and miss the essential work which is more important at that moment. For example, As a child I used to love painting. Intially it was like a time pass thing as a hobby. But gradually I became so obsessed with it that I used to paint whole day. Due to this my grades of the mid term exam in fifth standard were affected very badly. Finally, I had to stop painitng and study very hard to get good score in the final examination. Thus, one should concentrate more on the things that are important at that time in their life.

In sum, In my view people should not spend too much time on personal enjoyment. The things which we like to do sometimes cost too much money and time. These will affect us not only in recent future but far down in the life as well. Thus, A person should prioritize the things which are important for their life first and constrate on them. While few times in a year and in the spare time they should do the things they like to do.