The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that Adams Realty is far better than Fitch Realty, by stating certain facts and figures which rely on statistics and personal experience. However, if examined closely, then this argument make use of some underlying assumptions, which if reasoned out, can substantially weaken the argument. Some of them are as follows.

Firstly, the author, while comparing the number of real estate agents of both the companies, makes the assumption that more the number of agents, better is the work done by the company. This may not always be true. If out of the 40 real estate agents under Adams Realty only 10-15 are getting good deals and profits to their clients, then in reality, Fitch, which might have all 25 hard working agents, performs better than Adam’s Realty. Additionally, some agents from Adams Realty might be more inclined towards sales of commercial buildings than residential estates. In such cases, assigning an inept agent from Adams Realty to sell your home might prove to be deleterious. It is important for clients to take into consideration, the kind of work done by both the agents.

Secondly, the author tries to substantiate his claim by showing the average sales of both the companies in the past year. While this seems an appreciable stat, we should not fail to notice the possibility that, although Fitch Realty has lower sales, there is a chance that it has all of its sales from a certain location in the city. In this case, if the client has their property in an area where Fitch Realty has a dominance, then approaching Fitch Realty to get the job done should be considered. Like it has been previously stated, both the firms must be analysed for the type of real estate they engage in, as commercial estates give higher sales than residential property sales.

The author’s personal experience appears to be persuasive, although there is a possibility that he/she tried to sell their first property at a time when the real estate market was at a low. At such times, with the slow moving sales and rates of real estate, it can be difficult to sell property. On the other hand, for the sale of the second home, there is a high probability that the location of the property and the sales and rates in the market were favourable for the speedy sale of that property. Thus, the two scenarios have not been studied in comparable situations.

Thus, by closely analysing these hidden omissions, we can state that the author’s claim is not warranted. While the statistics seem to bolster their argument, they have not taken into consideration the nature of the job of both the companies and the time frame from which the statistics have been obtained. If analysed with care, then it can turn the odds in favour of Fitch Realty.