A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A world where everyone is the same robot manufactured from the same factory leaves no room for imagination and creativity. It only serves a generic purpose for the basic survival of the people, but does not allow the growth of science, arts and culture, which are so fundamental in allowing man to reach the great heights that he has achieved today. I mostly disagree with the suggestion given by the author regarding a common national curriculum for all students. My position can be supported by the following reasons.

Firstly, students are the future of the nation, and giving the government the authority and freedom to shape their curriculum allows them to shape these students. Although this sounds ideal, where all the students become young patriotic representatives of the future citizens, there is a high probability that the same curriculum will make them oblivious to the outside world. Corrupt governments can also use it as a weapon to spread their propoganda. History has shown this to happen before, during the Nazi rule in Germany. By controlling the schools all over gerrmany, the government was able to whitewash all the cititzens and force them into believing its corrupt ideals. The result was a series of destruction of life and property which were far worse than Dante's Inferno. Today, Germany has a diverse culture in the edcational sector, which allows all students to develop themselves and develop a free sense of thinking. This example shows how the curriculum can make or mar a nation and allow its people to live in a more globalized culture.

Speaking of the freedom of thought, a diverse curriculum, where students and get to choose an institution and it's subjects, allows them to develop their own intelligence while making these decisions. It does not enforce a future onto the student, but allows them to select where they want to lead their life. This favours competition and allows people to grow through it, as people now have to work harder for what they wish to do and learn the most from.

And what about people with disability? Their special needs might not be attended to, if the government sets up a strict curriculum for a generalized majority. These students have an equal right to education, but will be denied their part simply because the pace of learning did not match theirs or the subjects involved did not suit them. "If you judge a fish by it's ability to climb a tree, and a monkey on it's ability to fly then it will live it's whole life believing it was stupid". Every child is different and has different needs, which might not be satisfied by a generic curriculum.

Many might aver that a common curriculum helps countries to safeguard its culture. But rather than safeguarding a culture, it is possible to make it more robust to foreign takeovers simply by allowing it to change. This is possible naturally without any government enforcing it's rule, and allows a more globalized culture. Schools and institutions should favour this change and allow the new generation to set its own path.