The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The television station's business manager's claims that, from their observations over the past year, they should restore the time given to weather and local news. Although this sounds convincing, the claim is based on a number of assumptions and patrtial evidence which must be studied and questioned in order to support the claim.

Firstly, the manager states that most of the complaints that they recieved were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, he does not specify numerically the number of complaints. 'most' can be 100 or even 1,000 complaints, out of 10,000 viewers. Additionally, he fails to specify what was the subject of complaint by these viewers. Though these viewers talk about weather and local news coverage, there is a high probability that are not satisfied by the type of news they cover or are questioning the veracity of the news. They could also be insatisfied by the time at which they deliver the news, and might ask for morning shows. All in all, it need not be that the complaints are aimed at the amount of time given to such news. If this is the case, then the company should work on the quality of news that they deliver.

Secondly, we don't know how recent these complaints were. Even if the complaints were about the time given to weather and local news, it could be that such news was in demand when there was a natural disaster or a local attack. At such times, there could be an increase in viewers who demanded more news about these issues. However, without such circumstances, there might not be a need to increase the time on this genre of news by the station. Therefore, the timeline of the complaints must be studied to render the evidence concrete.

Thirdly, the manager states that there has been a decrease in the advertising contracts by local business. This can be due to a number of reasons other than the ones that he specifies. It could be that as this is a late-night news program, they did not attract the concerned or desired viewers, and so, the businesses found this a waste of money. Or there could be a decrease in the number of local businesses due to a recession period, and so they don't have the funds for additional advertisment. The manager has not considered these possibilities, and it can seriously weaken his argument.

All in all, the manager’s suggestion, though based on some form of evidence, is based on faulty assumptions which must be analyzed carefully. This careful understanding will allow them to take a more calculated decision regarding the television station's future quality and quantity of news delivered.