Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the advent of technology and mediums via which we absorb the news, it was inevitable that more scandals would be uncovered and brought to focus. Scandals uncover only a part of the problem and when they do, the damage is already done. Therefore we should take initiative and responsibility to find problems rather than relying solely on the scandals.

Firstly, with this mentality of stating that scandals are useful - we are metaphorically sitting with our arms crossed and letting the scandals happen. As it is rightfully said - "Prevention is better than cure", therefore we should try to uncover problems and solve it rather than addressing the problem after it has occurred. Moreover, scandals take ages to uncover and investigate, and by that time, the problem would have caused irreversible damage. For example, immense damage was done to flora and fauna indigenous to the Gulf of Mexico after the BP oil spill incident. BP was able to diffuse the situation with good PR but the damage was substantial. This being said, the incident could've been prevented if someone pointed out the potential for a spill due to faulty systems.

Additionally, media does a poor job in handling scandals. Media in their pursuit for views divert the attention of the public to more catchy headlines and trivial details of the scandal. For instance, in the President Clinton scandal, media was more focused on whether oral sex could be considered sex. Media should have focused on the fact that the president had lied to the citizens while being under oath and how more vigorous background checks could prevent the incident.

On the contrary, it is true that sometimes scandals do let us uncover few unseen problems in the society, but they should not be the only tools for us to discover problems. For example, after Bill Cosby scandal - workplace has become a safer place for women to work. More women have gained the courage to come forward and bring the people responsible for sexual harassment to justice. But still, we should not rely completely on scandals to occur before tackling the problem.

To sum up, while scandals are sometimes useful and bring the focus on previously unseen injustice, they should be treated as the last resort for us to uncover problems. We should actively educate the society so that people know what is right and what should be brought into focus.