Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Monitoring of employee emails is unethical and instead of saving the time of employees and protecting against lawsuits, monitoring will do the contrary.

Firstly, monitoring of someones emails, even when it is your employees, is an intrusion of privacy. There are laws in the constitution which protect the right to privacy. In the past few years there have been so many fights related to privacy, resulting in the waste of both time and money. The biggest one is the Edward Snowden case - former NSA employee, he exposed how the US government is using technology to spy on everyone one of its citizens and also others around the world. After this news, right to privacy has become even more serious matter. Hence, if the company decides to infringe upon the privacy of its employees by monitoring their mail, there will be more lawsuits than the ones it was trying to prevent. One way to solve this problem can be via educational courses that teach employees how to save time and best practices to follow while writing or responding to mails.

Secondly, studies have shown that the productivity decreases when the person feels that he is being monitored, which is in stark contrast to what company wants. If the company starts monitoring the mails, the employees will waste unneccesary time on composing even the most rudimentary mails. To tackle this, the company can save the resources that it would have other wise used for monitoring, and instead redirect it towards the induction program for new joinee and refreshers course held yearly for others, which would educate them about how to be prudent about valuable resources like time and system capacity. Furthermore, the company can reward employees, who have been the most productive and used the resources judiciously.

Lastly, let us assume the company started monitoring the resources. The overhead cost of time and money utilized by the management would be more than the infrequent damage endured by the company in lawsuits. furthermore, if proponent of this proposal posits that the routine monitoring would incur less cost if it is weekly or even monthly. But saying this defects the purpose of monitoring, it is possible that in the frequent monitory over big intervals may skip the damaging emails. Therefore, its is not wise to monitor the emails and rather use the money saved to educate employees.

To sum up, monitoring of employee emails is harmful and the potential of any benefit is scant. Therefore, if the company want to increase the productivity of employees, it should redirect its focus on educating the people via seminars and encouraging them by awarding the most productive employee.