Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

With plethora of books and articles dicussing the hidden secrets of becoming a great leader, the have one thing is common - that is to be successful one must learn how to be persuasive. The skill of persuasion is a subset of various skills that come under cooperation. Therefore, cooperation is the most valuable skills a leader must pocess.

Firstly, children learn to be competetive from a very young age, it is not a skill which needs to be taught. For example, often kids will play games which have competition in their very core - like coming first in a race, high score in a video game and even something silly as drinking soda the fastest. This being said, coorperation or teamwork is a skill which is not inherent, it builds and polishes via experience. Therefore, in order to be successful leaders one most invest time to learn teamwork, because competetion is something which we already have in our DNA.

Secondly, out of competitiveness and cooperation, the latter is a more important skill. Cooperation helps in building support for your vision, without support or followers there is nothing to lead. Persuasion, empathy, motivation etc are all subset of cooperation, these skills help to coherce people together. On the otherhand, competition creates hostility and differnce, which seperates humans.

On the contrary, some might argue that one might loose thier edge if you aren't competitive. While this is some what true but still out of competetion and cooperation. the former will always hold a second place in the list of most important leadership skills.

For example, Gandhi did not compete with other leader like S.C Bose, J Nehru, but he focused on creating unity among people by coorporating with other leaders. So as we know today, this lead to unification of Indians, which inturn lead to freedom. Had Gandhi decided to compete with other leaders, there would have been a chaous and it might be possible that India would be still under the rule of Britishers.

To sum up, while competition and cooperation are both important skills for a successful leader, cooperation is more important than the other. It is something which had to be learned, unlike competitiveness.