Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Students are burdened by various career decisions in college, out of which a major challenge is choosing a field of study. The choice boils down to getting a secure but a boring job or venturing uncharted territories by picking up interests with scarce job opportunities. It can be argued that for a successful career, freshers should opt for courses which align with their interests.

Firstly, a person is more likely to be engaged in subjects they like. For instance, if we force an art student to study quantum physics - it would be no surprise that the student will fail to fathom the information imparted in the classroom. And even if there are ample job opportunities in the filed that he dislikes, he would fail to qualify for the job or even worse - fail to secure a degree. Therefore, interest should be the deciding factor while choosing courses.

Secondly, we can find a plethora of example which suggest that job opportunities should not dictate career option. For example, gaming was thought of a leisure activity or hobby atmost. But recently people have made successful careers in the gaming industry - which was because of their dedication to their interest. It can be rightfully said that success is tantamount to the resolve of a person in his / her field.

On the contrary, some may argue that choosing the area with most jobs is a guarantee to a job security. But we fail to include an important variable i.e. - job satisfaction. After a certain time, money is not the primary goal, this is why fresh graduates tend to leave their jobs after a mere two months to pursue their interests in other areas. This waste of time can be easily avoided if one puts self-interest over job security.

To sum up, students selection of a particular course should be driven by his / her interest, rather than job security.