Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Choosing a field of study is a major question confronting students as they embark upon higher education. There is often dilemma about whether one should choose a course one is interested or passionate about or one which helps pursue a career with potential to earn more money. I think the students who should be given freedom to choose their field of choice rather than educational institutions actively encouraging them to choose a field of study with scope for lucrative career.

To start with, If the majority of students choosing high-paying professions will work in those areas, then there will be a crisis in low-paid areas. To draw a typical illustration one could examine the current situation with Russians teachers. As a consequence of the fact that in the 90s it was one of the lowest paid professions and many teachers faced the choice of either changing jobs or going hungry, only a small number of students chose teaching at school as their profession at that time. As a result, there is now a crisis of teaching and every year the level of school education falls. Consequently, if students choose only high-paying jobs, in other areas, low-paid, can alert the crisis.

Moreover, Generally, there may not be enough jobs in high-paying fields for all students.

As a result, there will be a surplus of job seekers in a high-paying area and employers can reduce wages. And then the student's plans to receive a high salary can collapse. A similar situation was again in Russia, when in the 90s the most profitable areas were considered to be law and accounting. A lot of students went to study these Sciences. Even the smallest universities have departments of accounting and law. But when all these students graduated from universities and started looking for work the labor market was so saturated that the salaries of lawyers and accountants were reduced tenfold. Until now, decades later, because of the huge number of lawyers and accountants in these areas, extremely small salaries.

All that distress could have easily been avoided if only students in choosing a profession were not guided by profit alone.

Conversely, the proponents of universities must provide truthful information to prospective students about expected earnings stand their ground, stating that high profits are the best motivation for good studies. However, the motivation for learning can also be an inspiring example of high qualification of parents in any field, interest in the study of this area, interest in science in General, the desire to make a scientific breakthrough or change the world for the better.

Nonetheless, this issue remains controversial and multifaceted, and being aware of its complexity might not only help an individual understand his or her motives, but also choose future profession.