The following appeared in the annual report from the president of the National Brush Company.

"In order to save money, we at the National Brush Company have decided to pay our employees for each brush they produce instead of for the time they spend producing brushes. We believe that this policy will lead to the production of more and better brushes, will allow us to reduce our staff size, and will enable the company factories to operate for fewer hours — resulting in savings on electricity and security costs. These changes will ensure that the best workers keep their jobs and that the company will earn a profit in the coming year."

This passage claims that the National Brush Company have decided to pay their employees for each produced brush instead of for working time because of it helps to company save money and earn a profit this logic has several flaws, and, therefore is not convincing. The logic of the argument is compromised because the author fails to mention some important aspects, suggest groundless cause-effect reasoning, relies on numerous unsupported assumptions,

First of all, the author claims that this policy will lead to the production of more and better brushes. When making such a statement the author assumes that the quantity and quality of products depend only on workers' salaries. Indeed, the author’s argumentation can seem logical at first glance. However, the author fails to mention that the quantity and the quality of producing brushes can depend on materials, the technology of producing and other factors. Therefore, the author’s argument is doubtful because it contains a major flaw in reasoning.

If the author had provided more relevant information his argument would have been more convincing.

Second, the argument suggests that the company factories will operate for fewer hours and it will lead to savings on electricity and security costs. Again, this logic may seem reasonable and justified to the inattentive reader. Nevertheless, a careful analysis reveals a major weakness in the author’s argumentation. The author ignores the possibility that the increasing quantity of brushes will increase and the consumption of electricity, and, consequently, the cost of electricity.

This problem could have been avoided if the author had mentioned numbers.

Finally, the argument points out that this way of reorganization will allow the company to reduce staff size. However, it may be the case that if they reduce staff their profit will be on the same level. But the author totally ignores to consider such a scenario in the passage

This problem could have been avoided if the author had provided a careful analysis of all facts and factors relevant to the matters.

In conclusion, the argument contains several logical inconsistencies. The author’s reasoning, therefore, is doubtful and hardly convincing