In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Knowledge is the support and basis for work in all areas, without knowledge you will not go far, while only through imagination there are breakthroughs and changes in all areas. Moreover, I would say that imagination is based on knowledge and multiplies it. Without imagination, there would be no breakthroughs in all areas of life and science.

First of all, if we look at the field of natural science such as physics or chemistry, there may be a lot of people with knowledge in this field who do routine work. But there are also pioneers like Einstein or Lomonosov. Without deep knowledge of physics, Einstein could not even see the problem and think in the direction of relativity of the concept of time or speed. But deeply studying this question and using his imagination, he proposed at that time a completely fantastic theory. The same story happened with Mendeleev, who for a long time plunged into different fields of science, studying everything carefully and using his imagination opened the table of chemical elements.

It may seem that in some professions the imagination is absolutely not necessary, the main knowledge and, as I have already noted, knowledge is the basis of the basics, but then the imagination steps into the work. If we look at the field of banks and Finance, only a rich imagination has helped people to create all these stocks, futures, stock exchanges, options and so on.

In any field and sphere of life knowledge is extremely important, but only imagination changes our world for the better.