A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

This passages claims that people of North America should consume soy regular for preventing fatigue and depression because people who live in Asia usually eat 20 grams soy per day and suffer much less. this reasoning has several flaws, and, therefore, is not convincing. The logic of argument is compromised because the author fails to mention some important aspects, suggests groundless cause-effect reasoning, uses incorrect generalization.

First of all, the author claims that lack of soy in the body leads to depression and fatigue.

When making such a statement author assumes that this is the only factor leading to such diseases. Indeed, the authors argumentation can seem logical at first glance.

However, the author fails to consider that there are many factors that affect human health. Of course, food is one of the most important factors, but the author mentioned only soy, without considering all other products. For example, the use of vegetables, fruits, fast food consumption, sugar, meat. Also, the state of health can be influenced by the environment, weather, political and economic situation in the country, as well as personal characteristics and relationships with family, friends, at work. therefore, the authors argument is doubtful because it contains a major flaw in reasoning. if the author had provide more relevant information, his argument would have been more convincing.

The argument points out that it is the consumption of soy that helps prevent depression and fatigue in Asians. Again, this point may seem reasonable and justified to inattentive reader.

Nevertheless, a careful analysis reveal a major weakness in author’s argument.

The author ignores to consider a possibility that soy consumption may have the opposite effect or no effect at all on human health. this problem could have been avoided if the author had provided comprehensive analysis off all facts and factors relevant to the matter.

Finally, the argument suggests that that isoflavones which have disease causing properties protect against depression and fatigue.

However, it may be the case that it is possible that isoflavones protect against other diseases, such as skin diseases or heart diseases.

But the author totally ignores to consider such a scenario in the passage.

this problem could have been avoided if the author had mention that isoflavones help fight depression and fatigue.

In conclusion, the argument that soy consumption protects against depression contains several logical inconsistencies: omission of important facts, incorrect analogy, flawed generalization.

The author’s reasoning, therefore, is doubtful and hardly convincing.