"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening t

This passage claims that opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café, because the cafe would be as welcomed by customers as book, also the children's book will become less popular and a café will can replace children’s section. This reasoning has several flaws, and, therefore, is not convincing. The logic of the argument is compromised because the author draws a questionable analogy, relies on unsupported cause-effect relationship and fails to mention some important aspects.

First of all, when the author concludes that opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers on the basis that Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base, the author assumes that the cafe would be as welcomed by customers as books. However, people who go to the store because of wide selection of books in all subjects, may not like bookstore with food at the same place. But the author ignores to consider this scenrio and his conclusion is not convincing. Having the answer to the question why the opening of the café will attract more visitors to the bookshop will strengthen the author's argument.

Second, the author assumes that children's book section will probably become less popular and less selling because of significant decline in the percentage of population under age ten, according to recent national census. However it is unsupported cause-effect statement. Maybe parents who have one or two kids will may not spend more quality time with their kids and, probably, will b more books for this purpose. Therefore, Monarch should monitor the sales of children’s books for confirm its decision regarding the opening the cafe

Third, making a statement about the advantages of opening a cafe, the author presupposes that a café is the best way to improve competitiveness. however the author fails to mention some important aspects that should have been addressed in the passage. There are many ways to attract more customers and improve shops position on the market. The Directors of Monarch Books should research market and consider other ways of increasing sales.

Finally, the argument is replete with several ambiguous parts. The questions, whic answers illustrates the argument, are not addressed by the author. Hence, the conclusion which is based on such an inconclusive argument cannot be tenable.