"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This passage claim that a recent study shows that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This reasoning has several flaws, and, therefore, is not convincing. The logic of argument is compromised because the author fails to mention some important information, suggests groundless cause-effect reasoning, uses incorrect generalization

First of all, the author of article claims that if an advertising firms wants to growth, they should hire executives who need less than 6 hours of sleep per day. When making such a statement the author assumes that business success depends only from sleeping time their executives. Indeed, the authors argument may seem logical at first glance. However, the author fails to consider that business profit depends from a big quantity of factors: economic situation, quality of stuff, education level of stuff and etc. Therefore, the authors argument is doubtful because it contains a major flaw in reasoning. To higher people, who just sleep less than 6 hour per night could be a simple way for the improving every business.

Second, the argument point out that there is an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firm. Again, this point can be reasonable and justified to initiative reader. Nevertheless, a careful analysis reveal a major weakness in author’s argument. The author ignores the possibility that executives who sleep less can read more books or study some additional material that improve their ability to do their work. This problem could have been avoided if the author had provided comprehensive analysis of all fact and factors relevant to the matter.

Finally, the argument suggests that any business should follow the advice that was received from only one survey between only 300 participant and only from advertising area. However, it may be case that this survey work only for this participant or realm of study, but cannot work for others business area, also it may be many others survey with different results. This problem could have been avoided if the author had mentioned more survey from this topic.

In conclusion, the argument that for prosper and growth business should hire only people who sleep less than 6 hour contains several logical inconsistencies: lack of important information, unsupported cause-effect, flawed generalization. The author’s reasoning, therefore, is doubtful and hardly convincing.