A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms Of the advertisin

In the argument, the writer concludes that employers with the habit of fewer than 6 hours of sleep per night are efficient to flourish productivity. He comes to this assertion based on certain evidence including a recent study. Although the writer's contentment might ultimately prove valid, As it stands now, the argument rests on three unwarranted assumptions that significantly hinder its credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the 300 males and females are the significant numbers of executives to draw this conclusion, but this might not be the case. Perhaps there may be more than 3 million executives and the sample size is much more lower than the exact sample population. In addition, it is possible that there are more advertising executives in the company as compared to other employees and draws conclusions only based on the executive's information. If either scenario above proves true, then the author's people with argument that than 6 hours of sleep are more productive does not hold water.

Moreover, the author assumes that the respondents give exact information about their sleeping time, but this might not be the case. Perhaps there may be some respondents who do not exactly remember their sleeping time and give information just to be a participant in the study. In addition, there may be a range of sleeping time not the exact time of sleep. If it is true that the information provided by respondents is not true, then the author's contention is significantly tempered.

Finally, the author makes an assumption that there is a causal relationship between the number of sleeping hours per night and the productivity of employees, but this might not be true. Perhaps there are lots of factors including physical factors responsible to increase productivity and work efficiency. Only sleeping hours might not be a factor to enhance the profit of a business. If it is true, then the writer's assertion is significantly tempered.

To conclude, although the central claim of the writer might hold water, indicating there is a connection between the amounts of sleep the employees need and the prosperity of firms, the writer needs to consider the above three alternative explanations if he hopes to bolster persuasiveness. The author should provide the exact sample population as well as the reliability of the study.