A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per d

The claim made by the author solely based on one factor- asian eat 20 grams of soy per day and Americans do not, hence latter have lot of fatigue and depressions. The one point reason gives rise to so many different questions: What are the causes of the depression? Were the study unbiased? What are the side effects of soy?

Firstly, depression happens because of many different factors like work stress, bad lifestyle, environment et cetera. There is not mention of any of these factors between the asians and the Americans which does not fully justify the soy solution. May be, because of North American being the most developed nation has so much pressure and stress on individuals to excel in their life when compare to asian and does result in health problems. The Many ecological and geological effects are to be considered before coming to a conclusion.

Secondly, we are not aware of the whether the sample set taken for study is identical or not. May be, the whole test is biased due to inconsistency of the study set. there is no concrete number on which the study was conducted, it might be a small set which is so less reliable and can mislead us to a completely opposite observation. The study might be a calumny by the soy manufactures so as to promote their product in North America. They might have stated the exact opposite in the Asia to grab attention of the public.

Thirdly, does soy always do good to the person who consumes it? Does it have any side effects? does some set of people be allergic to the product so that it might act in the reverse way and aggrandise the depression? There was no mention of any of the disadvantages, hence we do not have a lucid understanding of it. It can be a possibility that many other products might reduce depression and have very less side effects as of soy.

Hence I want to conclude that, with all the above unanswered questions about many aspects of the statement provided by the author. It is better to have a conclusion only after looking into every possible angle of the solution before recommending it to the public.