The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government , industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The author claims that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for any leadership in any fields like government and industrry is by inculcating a sense of cooperation but not competition. Some people might consider that competition will be better way as it might force people to bring their best and work for the fullest. However, I would like to agree with the author that cooperation will be more fruitful and in the subsequent paragraphs will provide explanation of why I choose this side.

Firstly, mankind evolved over the years by sharing their knowledge about many discoveries or inventions with others. Starting from invention of fire to the creation of internet, we have shared all our achievements with fellow communities for the development. If the earlier humans, were reluctant to share their discoveries we would not have come this far. Hence, the competitive sense will not help in the overall growth of the society as the thoughts and ideas will be confined to an individual.

Furthermore, in any field, the tasks or assignments are done by a group of employees who are termed as a team and so being a good team member always has to do with being cooperative. Today's technology gaints like Google, Amazon have more than few thousand and even more than hundred thousand employees working under the same firm. These gaints are trying to induce a healthy environment for people to share and grow. Moreover, many co-working areas are established for the new start-ups to mingle with each other and bolster their products. Hence, in any field of endevours we need to be more cooperative than competitive.

Finally, instilling the sense of competition upon young people might have some disadvantages. Due to the immense competition, the next generation might face a lot of stress and pressure in all aspects of their life. Which will inturn effect their physical and mental growth. People who are not able to handle this pressure might fall apart and may lead to ending their career, even worse, ending their life in the middle.

Conclusion, there are some potentional advantages of being competitive which should not be overshadowed. But, those benefits of competition does not overrule the benefits of cooperation. Thus, I want to conclude that I agree with the author's claim of "cooperation before competition".