The following is taken from a memo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing

department, during the past year, fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviews about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the

quality of our movies but with the public's lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising.

The author concludes that there is no issue in the quality of the movies that Super Screen-produced but with the public's lack of awareness which caused fewer people to attend their movies. The author had made this decision based on the increase in the percentage of positive reviews by the movie reviewers about a specific Super Screen movie. The author has made many assumptions which should be addressed poperly before making a decision.

Fiirstly, the author assumed that the decrease in the number of viewers is only because of less advertisement. But, the author did not consider other factors that might lead to this conclusion. What if the people who liked the early picture watched the latest one and the people who did not like it did not show up? The previous movie might have reached the whole audiance and many of them have made the decision not to go to any other movies of this franchise as they did not appel to them. This reason perfectly explains why positive reviews increased as there were less people that viewed thier movie and not because of less advertisement. Hence, this question remains unanswered.

Furthermore, the author has taken the decision by looking at data from two years which might not be enough to take a conclusion. As there can be many external factors which should be considered like economic status of the country in that particular year, the day which the movies were released. If there was an economy downfall in that year which made many people to lose their jobs and due to which less people were able to effort a ticket to watch the movie. The day of the year in which those movies were release also plays an important part in it's success. If the movie was released on the holiday season it will earn more and if it is release on working days it will not earn more. As these queries are not taken into consideration, we might not conclude it.

Finally, did the author observe the performance of similar movies which were released this year? Did he made the conclusion only based on his movie stats or did he consider overall analysis? There can be a case that many movies released this year are more of one category and being a similar movie it would not have made more viewers to attract it. The level of competition and the similarity of the movies across year should also be considered.

Conclusion, I concede with the author that there are some potentional reason to make that decision. But, many unattented questions we cannot come to a definite conclusion.