On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

The author's claims in the statement that increase in the number of moped accidents are attributed to the number of the mopeds being rented by the rental company, hence suggesting a remedy that the number of accidents can be reduced by reducing the rental count. Though the statement which the author is making seems sufficing enough for the cause, it is not foolproof. There are enough loopholes in the statement which would break the myth of the author.

Firstly, the author suggests limiting the number of mopeds rented from 50 to 25 per rental company. This would very well ensure that the number of mopeds being used on the island would be reduced by half, provided that the number of rental companies remains the same. Why would a rental company which used to earn X dollars a day, want to reduce the income to 0.5X dollars a day? They would definitely find a way out to maintain their income. They might open multiple branches of the rental company in different regions of the island, say he opens 3 branches, he would now be having a limit of renting 75 mopes a day. Now, who is the winner? Balmer Island Town Council or the Rental Company?

Secondly and most importantly, the author attributed the number of accidents to moped count. Is it a wise thing to correlate accidents and vehicular count? Let's say, 100 people who are good at driving and follow the traffic rules, would lead to lesser accidents than 50 people who are not good drivers. There are more important and crucial factors to an accident then just vehicular count. Drunk and irresponsible drivers, bad roads are a few notable factors. So does a reduction in the vehicular count by half and not making any amendments to the other crucial reasons for accidents help in reduction accident count?

The author mentions that similar steps were taken by Seavilles Town Council and that they have achieved the result. What does similar mean here? They would surely have reduced the rental count as the author claims. But are we aware of the other amendments they would have made to traffic rules or road safety rules? The amalgamated effort of all the changes would have helped reduce the number of accidents. Hence Balmer council might not obtain the expected result if they mask the other amendments made and stay stubborn in implementation of just vehicular count reduction.

Most importantly, it is mentioned that mopeds are the most popular means of transportation. If the vehicular count is reduced by half, how would the council handle the transportation needs of all the tourists? It might create dissatisfaction in the tourists and lead to the downfall in tourism in Blamer Islands.

It seems definite that the author aims at a constructive way to reduce accidents. But the assumptions made by the author to reduce the accident count are not self-sustainable. To obtain the desired results he would have to work on numerous other factors which would help achieve the result. But in the current form, it is not convincing enough if these remedies would help achieve the result.