Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The author claims that it is wise to ban the adminstration of incoulations against cow flu in the areas where the disease is detected. He also mentions the reason to not permit, he states that though the possibility is small, there have been cases where in a person has died post inoculations. The author's argument might be valid. But it doesn't provide sufficient reasoning for the same. I substantiate my claim for the same with the below assumptions.

Firstly, the author himselves mentions affirmatively that the administering the vaccine would save many lives of people in the region where the flu has gone rampant. This implies that the vaccine has done it's work of saving the people. He is unsure of administering the vaccine because, in the recent past there have been cases where in few people have died post the vaccination. We are not sure what exactly caused the death of the people, it might have been the flu which was in the final stage and hence couldn't be controlled. It is not a wise decision to put the lives of the majority of the population at risk because the vaccine did not work for a few. Those might have been edge cases.

Author is more concerned about the catostrophic effect the vaccine had on a few people, then the positive effect it might have on the bigger population. It is possible that a person might die if the vaccine is administered, but it is a thorough fact that the one's infected the flu would die for sure if not vaccinated. It is important that the author looks at a bigger picture and look for measures to administer the vaccine in a controlled manner.

Most importantly, the second statement mentions a possible flaw in the vaccine. It is having a deadly outcome on a few people. The author does not intend to root cause this issue. He is only aware that he has to stop the administration of the vaccine. He is not taking steps towards performing a postmortem of the cause. It is possibly that the death was due to excessive dosage of the vaccine or an allergy which the person had for the vaccine or as mentioned earlier, the person would have already been the final stages of the flu. If the reason for deaths were found, research would have helped to find the solution to this issue. For example, determining the optimal amount of the vaccine or finding if the person had any allergy for the vaccine, and if he had, to find an alternative for the vaccine. This is a major result which the author has failed to mention.

Though the intentions of the author are naive in the statement he makes, it is important to note that he has failed to substantiate his opinion. This might be a valid claim, but the chances of it being invalid is also high. Author would have to work on the above points and reframe the claim in order to build a strong argument supporting his claim.