A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

To start with the weak reasoning of the argument, the study conducted as mentioned in the argument has no supporting basis that states the specifications of subjects that were considered for the study. It doesn’t provide any details about the number of people who were a part of this study as test subjects. It fails to apprise us about the diversity of the participants of the study based on the regions they belonged to in their respective continents. North America and Asia being huge landmasses have vast diversity in terms of the people living on them and the food habits of people within themselves. Thus the reliability of the study can be demurred due to lack of substantial information and details.

The relation between the two diseases that are mentioned, namely “chronic fatigue” and “chronic depression” have not been discussed or clarified. There is no clarification by the author regarding the reason for selectively conducting tests on these two particular diseases and the lack of any explanation of their relation to each other discredits the study itself.

Moreover, there is no mention of the dependencies of these diseases on food. Without the relation between the food being consumed by an individual and the diseases in consideration it is next to impossible to come to any conclusion. As previously stated, whether the varying food habits based on regional influences in the continents were considered or not haven't been mentioned and thus complement the current reasoning. This excludes the possibility of evolution and adaptation that the people might have undergone due to them residing in different continents.

The argument stating soy of being a probable panacea for the diseases is based on weak reasoning that contents of soy, namely phytochemicals and isoflavones have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. The author has failed to provide evidence or the effect of the contents in soy, directly or indirectly towards these diseases, thus rendering the argument vague. It is a mere equivocation by the author where the general properties of contents of soy are stated without any clarification of the magnitude and the specificity of the effect it would have on the diseases that are the main concern.

Thus the author’s conclusion that North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis to prevent fatigue and depression is based on faltering arguments and the reasoning for the weakness of the arguments have been stated above.