People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

There always have been a rife between emotion and logic since the primordial times and it doesn't seem to be settled anytime soon. It is a widespread notion that people who make decisions under the influence of emotions are bad decision-makers even if they justify them with logic after. I beg to differ from this opinion. Emotions are what makes a human a human. Logic plays an important part in our quotidian lives and must not be ignored as well. If decisions were not supposed to have an ounce of emotion associated with it, whether expressed or eventually suppressed, we would be no lesser than robots. In my opinion, people who rely on emotions more while taking decisions and later try to appropriate them with logic are better in taking decisions because they bring in the humane aspect in this transaction of decisions. There are two main reasons that I will base my opinion on.

Emotions and logic are not against each other rather they should run parallel while making decisions. For example, if in the midst of a pandemic like the Coronavirus pandemic, a small company is being unable to sustain all its employees with the usual salary the company has limited options. It has been seen that some employers consider the financial crisis that the employees might have to go through if they are laid off on such short notices. The emotional aspects come into play here in making the employer think of the possibilities of how he can mitigate the distress the employees might go through. If the decision had to be completely logical the employer would have found it best to lay off a required fraction of the workforce. Rather, when the emotional and logical reasoning both were at play some employers could manage to take decisions that partially affected the employees but still provided minimal support they could at the same time. This not only did instill a sense of respect and trust in the affected employees but also an efficient way was discovered and implemented.

Emotions help invoke logical reasoning, and to be better decision-makers. The pleasure one derives from the outcomes of a decision taken drives the human being to take further responsible decisions. The sense of leadership or being in command where the situation demands a decision requires certain emotions to invoke it in the first place, It is not possible for the emotion to disappear once the desire to take the decision has been invoked. Thus, if at that moment a decision is taken it will have a conflation of emotions and logic that underpins the decision.

One might argue that basing decisions completely on emotions and not on logic is a trait of a poor decision-maker. It does hold true if emotions are the only support your decision has. Logic as to be present as a buttress to any decision or else the decision is no less than an equivocation.

In sum, it is not entirely true that people who take decisions based on emotions and justify them with logic are bad at making decisions. It is true given that the decisions were made only based on emotions. If not then the above reasons delineate how it doesn't justify one as a poor decision-maker.