The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping

malls throughout the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved two years ago by McAdam Road Builders, is

now badly cracked and marred by dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section

of Route 66, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition.

Appian Roadways has recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery, and it has hired a

new quality-control manager. Because of its superior work and commitment to quality, we

should contract with Appian Roadways rather than McAdam Road Builders to construct the

access roads for all our new shopping malls."

The vice president of a company that builds shopping malls

The vice president of shopping mall construction company suggests that they should land a contract with Appian Roadways to build access roadways to their new shopping malls. The author is convinced that the Appian Roadways have a superiority in their work and ensures better quality of construction than McAdam Road Builders. The author seems to be relying on unwarranted assumptions that might significantly weaken this argument. The author must be concerned and provide necessary answers to the following three questions to make a cogent case.

Are the traffic flow and type of traffic on the Route 101 and Route 66 same? Perhaps, the Route 101 constructed by the McAdam Road Builders are subjected to a larger traffic flow and the traffic consists of heavier vehicles in comparison to the Route 66 constructed by the Appian Roadways. Heavier Vehicles cause serious damage to roads and reduce the longevity of the roads significantly. It is possible the heavier vehicles are proscribed from using the Route 66 for transport and also that the total diurnal traffic flow is lesser than in Route 101. This can explain the damaged state of route 101 in comparison to route 66. The author must assess the classifications between the roads if any and the traffic flow and the maximum permissible loads of each to make an accurate assumption.

Do the roads belong to the same location? Perhaps the Route 101 is located in a place which experiences heavier rainfall or suffers from water clogging both on the surface and under the soil surface that losens up the asphalt bindings of the road in comparison to the Route 66. This can substantiate the reason for the damaged state of the two year old Route 101 in comparison to the four year old Route 66. Moreover different locations might result in different traffic conditions which would thus refering to the point made previously lead to discrepancies in the magnitude of degradation of quality of the two roads. The author should specify the location of the two Routes and the differences between the natural conditions endured by these routes is any.

Are the new quality control manager and workers who would be operating the newly purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery experienced? Perhaps the new quality-control manager might be a neophyte in this domain of work and has significantly low experience. It is possible with low experience it might be a difficult job to maintain the superior quality standards that the company promises. It is also possible that the worker who are supposed to operate the state-of-the-art machineries are not well rehearsed and experienced in using them in the first place. Owing to the advancedness of the machinery the workers and technicians might need sufficient training and work hours spent on the machinery to become conversant with it working and technical aspects. Thus though it may seem alluring but the author must assess the experience level of the newly appointed quality-control manager and the workers by conducting survey within the company and meeting with the manager before entrusting the job of construction to them.

In sum, the argument made by the author stands weak based on the questions that needs elaborate clarifications. The author must gather information about the Routes 101 and 66 and compare what they endure on a daily basis, taking their location into consideration. Extensive surveys must be conducted can be conducted to evaluate the skill and experience of the workers of the company. The author must reach out to the manager and have a discussion whether his past experiences and projects are noteable and sophisticated enough to make his suitable for this job. The above suggestions if considered by the author will strengthen the author's argument and make a cogent case.