The following appeared in a memo from the president of a company that builds and sells new

homes in Steel City.

"Over the past five years, the population of Steel City has increased by more than 20 percent,

and family incomes in Steel City have risen much faster than the national average. Nationwide,

sales of houses priced above $150,000 have increased more than have sales of lower-priced

houses. Such data indicate that we should make changes in our business to increase

company profits. First, we should build fewer low-priced houses than we did last year and

focus instead on building houses designed to sell at above $150,000. Second, we should hire

additional workers so that we can build a larger total number of houses than we did last year."

The presiednt of a company, building and selling new homes is convinced that the company firstly should focus on building houses to be sold above $150000 than the lower prices houses, and secondly they should increase their workforce to contribute to their vision. The authors visions seem to be elicited by the increasing national family income averages and promising the Nationwide sales figures. The author's visions is supported by assumptions that seem unwarranted. The author should provide relevant answers to the following three questions to make the argument more cogent.

Does the increase in family income in Steel City by 20% indicate that the residents are willing to spend more. Perhaps, the increased family income rates would encourage to indulge in investments and savings for future use. It is possible that the Steel City has a larger number of low income families than wealthy families and thus rise in family income would not be compelling enough for them to purchase new houses or afford houses that have a staggering price of atleast $150000. The author must conduct surveys in the city to assess the percentage of residents who are willing to look for new properties and eventually buy them, along with the prices they will be able to afford.

How does the Nationwide sales figures for houses priced above $150000 presage the spendthriftness of the residents of the Steel City? It is highly possible that the Nationwide figures of increased sale of houses priced at atleast $150000 is a poor indicator sales charcteristics of a certain region. It is possible that another region in the country for example has a huge population of wealthy people who have the means to afford sumptuous houses. The Nationwide data mostlikely, provides no evidences or data specific to Steel City and the trends on the number of residents who might be able to, and willing to spend exorbitant amounts for a house. The author must rely on the previously mentioned survey to estimate the possibe consumers in the city rather than on the Nationwide figures.

Does increased work force ensure better, faster and economical completion of constructions? Perhaps, the cost incurred by the company to hire workers for the vision of building more number of houses would be staggering if the workers are not content with the salary that is offered to them. They might demand higher salaries for the construction work that is supposed to be sold at prices at or over $150000. It is also possible that an increased and a new workforce along with existing might lead to reduced coordination amongst themselves. This would lead to serious complications and faltering of the whole vision at a fundamental level and incurr gigantic losses. The author should carefully monitor the expenditure on the inducted workers and their induction should be based on their skills, experience and precision at their job.

In sum, based on the above stated unwarrated assumption on which the argument stands exposes its infirmity. The author must assess the purchasing power of the residents of the city by conducting extensive and pervasive surveys, and carefully monitor the expenditure on the new workers. This would render the argument stronger and more cogent than it is.