The following is taken from the editorial section of the local newspaper in Rockingham.

"In order to save a considerable amount of money, Rockingham's century-old town hall should be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy-efficient building that some citizens have proposed. The old town hall is too small to comfortably accommodate the number of people who are employed by the town. In addition, it is very costly to heat the old hall in winter and cool it in summer. The new, larger building would be more energy efficient, costing less per square foot to heat and cool than the old hall. Furthermore, it would be possible to rent out some of the space in the new building, thereby generating income for the town of Rockingham."

The argument stating that the Rockingham’s century old town hall must be torn down in lieu of savings in terms of considerable amount of money tends to be infirm based on the limiting evidence.

The article fails to elucidate the crowd size that currently works at the Old town hall and how replacing it with the new larger town hall would assist in accommodating the crowd. A reader would require a substantial amount of information on the crowd size, instead of aligning with the decision to take down the century old town hall, which is an important and probably a landmark of Rockingham.

Moreover the temperature regulation problems cited by the article provide the reader with no explanation of its occurring at the first place. Eviscerating a century old landmark and replacing it with a newer version citing temperature regulation problems without actually addressing the cause of the problem renders the argument feeble. Without the proper insights on the cause of the temperature regulation problems in the old townhall it is impossible to evaluate and estimate the solutions to the problem. The extent of the issue has not been represented in this case which leads the reader to question how much of a problem it really is.

The salient feature of the new structure, the energy efficacy of the new town hall has been stressed upon by the article without shedding any light on the methods of achieving that. The article does not cater to the reader the important insights and comparison between the two town halls based on their energy expenses and how the new town hall plans to be more efficient than its former. One of the reasons cited for the energy efficacy of the new town hall is entirely based on the purported temperature regulation challenges faced, which has been previously discussed and found out to be lacking in evidence.

Finally the article, does not discuss and limn, how renting out space from the supposed larger new townhall will be generating higher revenue than renting out space around the new town hall. Building a larger town hall will result in encroaching on public land and renting out a piece of the same piece of land makes no sense. If the same piece of land that after being encroached, gets rented out to the public, only in this case the town hall remains untouched would probably generate a similar magnitude of funds. Thus without a clear discussion and reasoning on how the revenue generation is intended the argument is rendered vague.

Thus considering the above reasons it is delineated how the argument falters in some aspects and cannot be enough for the tearing down the Old town hall.