The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis.

"In Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate

firms declined by 15% over the last three years, whereas an increasing number of graduates

took jobs at small, general practice firms. Even though large firms usually offer much higher

salaries, law school graduates are choosing to work for the smaller firms most likely because

they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. In a survey of first-year students at a

leading law school, most agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less

important to them than job satisfaction. This finding suggests that the large, corporate firms of

Megalopolis will need to offer graduates more benefits and incentives and reduce the number

of hours they must work."

Smaller firms have more inflix of law school graduates of Megalopolis than the large firms, and has even seen a 15% decline of graduates working in Large firms. The author cites the possible greater job satisfaction that smaller firms offer than the larger firms, to bolster the argument made. Before the Corporate firms hand out increased benefits and incentives there are certain questions and concerns that the author needs to address which otherwise weaken the argument significantly.

Does the services provided by the larger corporate firms are comparable to that of the smaller firms? It may be possible that the service offered by the larger firms are several manifolds larger in proportion than that of the smaller firms. Perhaps, this is the reason the larger firms have a higher responsibility, employee workload and a larger base of customers to cater to compared to the smaller firms. It seems plausible that the smaller firms catering to a smaller customer base may have some resources at hand that they can provide to their employees as lucrative benefits and incentives.

The survey of the first year students of a leading law school can be quesitoned based on its reliability. Perhaps, the students of first year are not yet not conversant of the technicalities and their responsibilities as law school graduates and unbeknowst of the guidance they are going to receive at the school. They might be speaking out of naievity and levity. Moreover it seems to be too small of a population to consider for a survey. For better understanding of the situation the survey must be pervasive and must consider a wider student base spanning across schools of Megalopolis.

The mention of 15% decline in graduates working at large firms may not be a reliable data because it is not undergirded by appropriate reasons of each individual leaving the company. Perhaps, a certain number of graduates working in large corporate fitms in Megalopolis had received better job offers with higer salaries at similar or even larger firms outside the Megalopolis borders.

Pertaining to the reasonings stated above the argument stands weak. The author must encourage and consider extensive surveys that consider a wider population of students from various law schools and from various years of study. More clarity should be provided regarding the reasons why the graduates have decided to leave large firms of Meganopolis and the at the same time the comparison between the larger and smaller firms should circumscribe important aspects of size of customer and types and number of services that are offered. Thus, a pervasive survey and apposite information would help the author come to a better and well thought conclusion.