Among all students who graduated from Hooper University over the past five years, more

physical science majors than social science majors found permanent jobs within a year of

graduation. In a survey of recent Hooper University graduates, most physical science majors

said they believed that the prestige of Hooper University's physical science programs helped

them significantly in finding a job. In contrast, social science majors who found permanent

employment attributed their success to their own personal initiative. Therefore, to ensure that

social science majors find permanent jobs, Hooper University should offer additional social

science courses and hire several new faculty members who already have national reputations

in the social sciences.

The author of the article in the recent issue of college newspaper suggests that the Hooper University must arrange for additional degrees in social science courses and also bring new faculties of national acclaim in social science courses to boost the number of social science majors landing permanent jobs. The author cites the survey conducted amongst the graduates and reason that the prestige of the physical science courses of the university have a role to play in the physical science graduates landing higher number of permanent jobs. Whereas in case of the social science graduates the survey states that the social science graduates who had landed a permanent jobs ascribe their success to their own capabilities.The arguments made by the author seem to be based on some unwarranted assumptions that the author must address in order to make an cogent case. The unwarranted assumptions are highlighted in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the survey, the author relies on mainly to draw his inferences has a questionable credibility. Perhaps the survey was conducted by the students and was poorly executed. It is possible that since the source or the body that conducted the survey is unknown one might dismiss the survey findings as factitious or that they have been subject to skulduggery. The author must ensure the source and credibility of the survey conducted before citing it in the article and drawing inferences, as the readers would be readily discarding it on grounds of minimal credibility.

Secondly, the prestige of the Hooper University's physical science courses stated by some of the graduates is not quatifiable. There are no records provided that establish the "prestige" broached in the argument and is rather a qualititative statement that again has no reliable source. It is possible that the "prestige" the author cites in his article has been a figment of the pride of the physical science graduates owing to their high permanent placement records. Thus, the author needs to investigate the "prestige" and its credibility and also provide some quantifiable factor upon which the higher placement rates for physical science graduates can be based.

Lastly, without conducting a detailed survey and finding out the factors that has been the cause of the low placement rates for social science, hiring new nationally acclaimed faculties and expounding courses in social sciences might not be a favourable decision. Perhaps, the demand for social science graduates is less in the area or in the country. It is possible that there are external factors like rapid industrialization that requires larger number of physical science graduates as compared to social science graduates. The author must take into consideration the contemporary scenario and cite if there are such plausible external factors that has its influence in the uneven permanent job scene. Without the above suggested investigation the university might suffer unncessesary losses on its resources and the existing students might be directly affected by the same.

In sum, the argument stands weak and the author needs to incorporate the above suggested details in his argument to strengthen it. If the author establishes the credibility of the survey, investigate and accordingly cite the external factors if any, that might have a significant effect on the placement records of the graduates, then a cogent case can be made that the University can even rely on does not incur losses.