The following appeared in a memorandum issued by the strategic planning department at

Omni Inc.

"Mesa Foods, a manufacturer of snack foods that currently markets its products within a

relatively small region of the country, has strong growth potential. Mesa enjoyed a 20 percent

increase in profits last year, and its best-selling product, Diabolique Salsa, has had increased

sales over each of the past three years. Since Omni Inc. is interested in reaching 14-to-25 year

olds, the age group that consumes the most snack food, we should buy Mesa Foods, and

concentrate in particular on marketing Diabolique Salsa throughout the country."

The strategic planning department of the Omni Inc. suggests on purchasing Mesa Foods and focus their marketing resources to sell the Diabloique Salsa by the Mesa Foods since Omni Inc. largely caters to consumers of the age 14-to-25, that apparently consumes the most snack food. The author's suggestion is based on the 20 percent profit accretion of Mesa Foods the previous year, along with the purported popularity of it putatively best selling product, Diabolique Sala which has shown increased sales over the last three years. The author must clarify the following three concerns one might have about the suggestion they provide which otherwise would weaken the argument.

Does the success of a company in a relatively small region of the country ensure high turn outs,or "strong growth potential" when extrapolated to countrywide sales. Perhaps, due to the food preferences of the consumers in that relatively small region of popularity, the products of Mesa Foods perfectly matches the gustatory preferences of the people. It might be possible that the people belonging to other regions might have different food habits and cullinary preferences and Mesa Food's products might not get the same level of preference. There might be an erractic sale of the Mesa Food's products accross the country which can swing towards both ways as a profit or loss to Omni Inc. The author must encourage and base his argument on extensive country wide surveys that would take into account the people's preferences for different foods including ones sold by Mesa Foods.

The 20 percent increase in profits of Mesa Foods doesnot indicate much about the popularity nor the potential of the company. It is possible that the profits Mesa Foods made from the previous years were not significant enough at the first place. This would insinuate that the 20 percent increase in profit would also refer to profit that might not be enough to base the putative assumption being made by the author about the company's potential. This elicits a proper investigation or a clarification from the author to indicate the previous sales and profit statistics of the company or else the percentages mentioned are deemed vague, weakening the argument.

The success of Diabolique Salsa as the best selling food and with increasing sales over last three years is vague without in statistics cited. Perhaps, the increasing sales of Diabolique Salsa is not significant enough to consider it to be marketed by Omni Inc. Without information about the actual sales figures of the product, promoting it country wide would most probably gain nothing more that indifference from the people. The authors must ensure that the sales figures are encouraging enough to pursue the marketting of Diabolique Salsa.

In conclusion, the argument stands weak based on the reasons stated above. The author should collect more data on the sales and profits of Mesa Foods and especially for their product Diabolique Salsa before country wide marketting. This would help the strategic planning department of Omni Inc to take a more informed and secured decision and avoid losses.