The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of "Bargain Brand" Cereals.

One year ago we introduced our first product, "Bargain Brand" breakfast cereal. Our very low

prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the

companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their

prices, and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we

needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success selling cereal,

Bargain Brand should now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food

products as quickly as possible.

The marketing director of "Bargain Brand" Cereals is convinced that they should expedite the initiation of marketing of other low-priced food products to expand its business. The author cites their low price as a salient reason for the comparatively high customers who prefered them over top cereal companies. The companies who produced the top brands had purportedly reduced their prices to compete with "Bargain Brand"'s breakfast cereals and also introduced new budget brands, but it had no effect on Bargain Brand's sales as the author states that no increase in prices were required to maintain their profit. The author seems to have based his argument on some unwarranted assumptions that should be addressed to make a cogent case.

The author fails to quantify the amount of price reductions the top-selling cereal companies have introduced in order to compete with them. Perhaps the price reduction was not significant enough to affect the sales of Bargain Brands. This leaves the Bargain Brands to the risk that if the top-selling cereal companies reduce their prices further and by a significant amount the sales can get egregiously affected. The author must provide statistical or relative information about the amount of price that was lowered by the competitors so as a better decision can be taken.

The author fails to mention that if their are other food products the top-selling companies draw their profit from. It is possible that these competing companies have higher profits that they earn from the sale of other food products in comparsion to the cereal sales. This might be a reason that the companies have not put in enough efforts to maximise their profit in cereals and diverted their efforts towards other food products. This might result in the Bargain Brand encountering tougher competition in terms of other food products and might result into loss as this argument fails to inform the readers about the profit sources of the competitors. The author must investigate the sources of profit of its competitors to have an comprehensive idea before promoting other low-priced food items.

The author's argument seems to be precipitative given that they had introduced the their first product only a year before. Perhaps the customers were excited to try out the new product and break the monotony of buying the same product from other companies. It may be possible that a large section of the customers to relapse back to prefering products from the top-selling companies after sometime. The author's assumption that one year is enough duration to judge the sales of a certain product might be deleterious for the company's future endeavours.

In conclusion, the argument stands weak and must answer the above concerns to strengthen the argument. If the author is able to provide more information on the amount of price reduction by its competitors and investigate the sources of profit of its competitors then in my opinion the author can make a cogent case.