To understand the most important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In devoting and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue stated evinces a blatant ignorance towards the contributions of every other cities or towns towards the society that dwell in them. To understand the important characteristics of a society one must first understand what are the characteristics that would be significant enough to understand that particular society. For any society , its history and the cultural heritage is one of the salient features that must be explored and that requires travelling back in time via the stories and apothegms of people from all the rungs of the social ladder in that society. The primary focus of a society is its people and that is where from our understanding should start and grow as we move up the societal ladder.

The study of major cities should be of lesser significance than the comparable lower tier cities. To support the above view it can always be provided in defence that major cities have comparatively more established connectivity to the surrounding regions and even the outer world at times. This allows the cultural norms and customs to get adulated by the influence of external cultures that are foreign to the society in consideration. Considering a major city of the Indian society, New Delhi we can say that though New Delhi has a lot to offer in terms of culture and historical significance but if we scout around the suburbs and slowly move towards the interior we get to see descry the details of it. The city of Lucknow ranking lesser than New Delhi offers a extremely detailed insight into the characteristics of the society of Northern India. Mentioning Northern India helps us to come to the realization of the importance of regional differences that are particular to that society as a whole.

As mentioned previously, to understand a society at a greater depth, the regional influences must be taken under consideration. The regional influences can only be properly assessed if we delve deeper into the smaller cities and the daily life of the people of those regions and understand the differences that exist due to these regional separations but at the same time their existence in harmony. The variation and interpretation of the central traditions of a society based on the different regions is a important thing to be understood.

At the same time we must also consider the major cities to be studied but with a different perspective. We must study the major cities to track the development of the society as a whole and the apparent direction of growth it is headed towards. The major cities offer more of a global perspective of the society which is important factor to be considered but not the only primary factor. The major cities help us to understand the transition of the culture and traditions over a period of time and helps us to juxtapose the state of the society at different levels of development existing concomitantly.

Thus, the claim that major cities must be studied to understand any society falters when given more importance than the study of the cities belonging to the lower tiers first.