"Many of the world's lesser-known languages are being lost as fewer and fewer people speak"

Language has been of the most aspect of convivial being like Humans from primordial times and has developed ever since. Initially starting out with gesticulating our thoughts and emotions we self taught ourselves to produce sounds to communicate. As of now we are effectivey able to articulate our feelings and emotions. But there are several languages that are not ubiquitously known and in this modern age are sinking into abyss, with fewer people using them to communicate with each other. I strongly agree that these lesser known languages are indeed getting lost amongst the popular ones out there and many might have already become extinct, before we knew they even existed. There are two main reasons for my thoughts aligining with the above notion.

New generations are hardly given these lesser known languages as choices to choose amidst the well known ones. If they are not broached about the existence of such lesser known languages at the first place then there hardly is a chance that one would go out of their way to acquire the adeptness in some lesser known language. For example, in schools the most common compulsory mode of imparting education is English and based on the location the regional languages, like German, French and Spanish in European countries. It is very less likely that students are provided with options to take up languages like ancient greek and eastern europian languages. For most cases the student remain apathetic to the existence of such languages. This elucidates the discrimination against these lesser know languages at a very preliminary but salient stage where it could have been introduced to a huge mass of population, and it could have gained significant attention and vociferous speakers fluent in that tongue.

Due to the current global scenario of jobs and markets, the widely known languages have been almost mandated in most cases as an qualification for entrance. It was seen in a worldwide survey that Languagaes like English dominated the job market and had the second largest population of speakers in a country like India which has numerous other regional languages ascribed to it already. India has the second largest number of english speakers after the United States. This growth of English speaking has led to significant and noticeable reduction in the number of native language speakers and lowered awareness about the existence of native languages. The languages that were even lesser known in the deeper reaches of the villages of India now stand at the edge of extinction. This goes to show that the wider known languages dominate job opportunities and the market, or the economies around the world to such an exhillarating extent that people are compelled to learn them sacrificing on the lesser known languages.

Though one might argue that the lesser known languages are separetely promoted by nations as important part of their culture, it can be easily understood that those foible promotions have the maximum reach to a few hundred of people of attending those traditional events. The so called "Promotion" of the lesser known languages that one might cite are but mere displays of historic cultural and tradtional displays that are inadequately potrayed. Thus it is evident from the above reasons that lesser knoen languages are indeed are being lost as lesser are people are made aware of them ultimately lesser people speaking them, in presence of the large and in some case economy dominating languages.