Many of the world's lesser-known languages are being lost as fewer people speak them. The governments of countries in which these languages are spoken should act to prevent such languages from becoming extinct.

The writer asserts that the world's lessr- known languages are being lost, the government of the countries where these languages are spoken should act to prevent such languages from becoming extinct. I partially agree with the writer's contention. Often, languages gives us a sense of pride, sense of an indentity so that lesser-known languages should not be abandoned. At some point, however, this is not a productive task, government should focus more to eradicate poverty, hunger, and unemployment etc which are more important than preserving lesser-known languages.

First of all, the languages gives us a sense of pride, sense of who we are really. One the other hand, preserving languages is itself a wonderful task, if government steps up to preserve these languages, it may have huge impact on tourism. When there presents distinct languages, culture, it often intrigue foreign people, as a result, more and more tourist wants to visit the place. This might help to grow revenues of the government. However, in the modern global scenario, the main problem of the world is poverty, hunger, illiteracy etc. In can be ephasize that, rather efforts on preserving lesser-known languages, efforts in order to eradicate poverty, hunger and illiteracy is more crucial.

Second of all, in this era of globalization, sometime preserving lesser-known languages might be counterproductive. When the distinct languages presents in a society, it may cause misunderstanding among the people of different group. It may cause contention or discord between people, which would result in war. Today, even internet has using English as its official language, it is beneficial to know the common language, which may help people for conformity and corelation.

Third of all, government has other pivotal issues, which directly impacts on people's life such as social problems, the ubiquitous poverty. If government focuses in such area, people might be directly get relief. For the larger part of these group, the languages may not matter much, those in this group wants free medical service, food for eat, housing and employment. In addition, government has more important issues than preserving languages so the focus should be in such area.

In sum, glaringly preserving lesser- known languges would be great, however, focusing on such unproductive area, government may tend to forget the main obligation towards the people.