Many of the world's lesser-known languages are being lost as fewer and fewer people speak them. The governments of countries in which these languages are spoken should act to prevent such languages from becoming extinct.

Language is a media of expressing thoughts. Every language has its own pride, essence and self-worth. Every language, be it lesser-known or mostly-known, should be reserved. The prompt asserts that, due to less usage of world’s lesser-known languages, with the passage of time, those language are being extinct and government should take action to protect those languages from being extinct. In my opinion, I partially agree with the fact of preserving lesser-known languages and government’s interference in that action for 2 reasons.

On one hand, every nation’s language bears the cultural heritage, tradition, rituals of that nation .Besides, every native language has different spiritual meaning. Language represents identity of a nation, people of the nation or city. If any language disappears, the culture, traditions, rituals of that country disappear too. Even if the lesser-known languages are of not much practical use in practical world, there are still many nations that use their native language to communicate. For instance, one of the least spoken language Greek is used by 13.5 billion people in this world and nations like Italy,Turkey and Greece are using this language fluently in their daily life. Therefore, it should be a matter of utmost concern to reserve the lesser- known languages to keep the cultural heritage,tradtions and rituals intact.

On the other hand, in this practical and technological world many intricate problems such as war, lacking of food, education and treatment are arising every now and then. Saving a language from extinction, apparently, isn't one of those practical and critical problems that requires government’s attention. Private organizations, instead of government, may work on the task of reserving those languages.

In summary, preserving an indigenous language is absolutely an important and worthy goal that would help preserving cultures, traditions, rituals, self-worth and spirituality of a nation.But,the task should be done by private organizations or people instead of government as the resource and time of Government is plays,undoubtedly, more important role in solving critical and practical problems.