"In the next mayoral election, residents of Clearview should vote for Ann Green, who is a

member of the Good Earth Coalition, rather than for Frank Braun, a member of the Clearview

town council, because the current members are not protecting our environment. For example,

during the past year the number of factories in Clearview has doubled, air pollution levels have

increased, and the local hospital has treated 25 percent more patients with respiratory

illnesses. If we elect Ann Green, the environmental problems in Clearview will certainly be

solved."

The editorial recommended that people should vote for Ann Green rather than for Frank Braun. Because Frank Braun is a member of Clearview town council whose members, currently, are not protecting environment. Moreover, during past year the number of factories in Clearview has doubled. Besides, local hospital treated 25 percent more patient with respiratory illness. Though the editorial's recommendation is appealing, clear scrutiny of evidences reveals that the editorial's argument is based on some faulty assumption.

In citing evidence to back the editorial's argument up, the editorial stated that Ann Green is a member of the Green Earth Coalition where Frank Braun is a member of the Clearview town council and members of town council, currently, are not protecting the environment. Here, the editorial assumes that Ann Green, a member of Green Earth Coalition, will protect the environment. In assuming that editorial did not give any evidence regarding members of the Green Earth Coalition. For example, It is possible that members of the Green Earth Coalition will not protect the environment. Besides, It may be the case that Ann Green will not protect the environment, despite members of the Green Earth Coalition doing so. Since the editorial fails to state this several facts, the argument is not valid.

Further, the editorial assumes that town council is liable for the last year's increase in the number of factories rather than other phenomenon. The editorial did not give any evidence regarding this unwarranted assumption. It may happen that business typhoons are liable for the increase in factories which increases air pollution. It is also probable that members of the Green Earth Coalition use cars frequently than members of Clearview town council. As a result they are liable for the air pollution.

Moreover, the editorial assumes that increase in the number of patients with respiratory illness is caused by the air of Clearview town. It may be the case that most of the people with respiratory illness admitted in hospital of Clearview are the residents of other towns rather than that of Clearview. It may also happen that their illness is caused by the air of other town rather that of Clearview. Since the editorial ruled out these possible situations, I cannot accept his recommendation regarding who voters should elect to city council.

In a nutshell, the editorial cannot justify his voting recommendation on the basis of scant evidence. If the editorial provides extra evidences regarding unwarranted assumptions stated above, it would be more justifiable.