The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Clearview newspaper In the next mayoral election residents of Clearview should vote for Ann Green who is a member of the Good Earth Coalition rather than for Frank Braun a member of the Clearvie

The editorial recommends that Clearview residents should vote for Ann Green, who is a member of the Good Earth Coalition, rather than Frank Braun, who is a member of the Clearview town council, in the next mayoral election in order to solve the environmental problems of Clearview. To support his recommendation, the editorial tells that the current members of the Clearview town council failed to protect the environment, and the local hospital has treated 25 percent more patients with respiratory diseases during the past year, and that the number of factories in Clearview has doubled, increasing the air pollution. Stating in this way, this argument fails to mention several key points that are needed to evaluate the argument, and blindly relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence, making this argument weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, the editorial readily assumes that increased air pollution is a consequence of doubling the number of factories. It is entirely possible that the factories increased during the period environmentally sustainable, and the increased air pollution is caused by other things that emit pollution causing materials such as motorbikes, cars, or other vehicles. Without providing any pieces of evidence that prove attribution of the increased air pollution to the increased factories one cannot make such a strong claim.

Secondly, the editorial assumes that the increased treatments of patients with respiratory diseases are due to the increase in respiratory diseases. Perhaps, the treatments increased because the town council builds new hospitals in Clearview, or maybe the facilities in the existing hospitals have increased, attracting more patients. If either of these case proves to be true, then the argument stated above is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, the editorial also assumes that Frank Braun will fail to solve the environmental problems as a mayor. Failing as a member of the town council does not necessarily mean that he will also fail as a mayor. Perhaps he has not had enough authority to encounter environmental problems. If this is the case, he is might even a better candidate to become the mayor. The editorial also assumes that Ann Green will solve the environmental problems once she becomes the mayor. One's failure does not necessarily indicate another's success. So even if the current town council fails to protect and solve the environmental problems, there is no evidence that Ann Green, as a mayor, will surely be successful in solving the environmental problems. If the above is true, then the editorial's argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed and unconvincing for the above-mentioned reasons. It could be considerably strengthened if the editorial clearly mentioned all the relevant facts and evidences to substantiate assumptions that Ann Green will, surely, solve the environmental problems once she becomes the mayor, and that Frank Braun will not be successful in doing so. To asses the merit of his/her argument, I'd also like to know that increased respiratory diseases is attributable to the increased air pollution caused by the increased factories during the past year. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.