People s attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole

Are People's attitudes determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole? In reality, except some different situation, people's attitudes are determined more by society as a whole. Thus, I aver that the speaker dams so.

We, the people, are like monkey. Sometimes we imitate others who live in our surroundings. For example, one of my friends is a traitor, hater of own country. When my brother, a jingoist, stays with him, sometimes being manipulated by him, start hating our own country. Though his attitudes, sometimes being manipulated, change, but in many cases he is a patriot, which is determined by the society as a whole.

It may be plausible that people's attitudes are determined more by immediate situation or surroundings. For example, in our university hostel, some of the students, being a hater of alcohol, tend to drink in party arranged by others. In this scenario, as an exception, author's assertion is plausible.

Apart from the foregoing provisos, I strongly disagree with the assertion presented by the author. Attitudes contain our language, culture, way of talking etc. If I consider the language at first, I will then say that our attitudes are determined by society as a whole. For example, I speak in Bengali languages. Though when I go abroad, I use to talk in English, but still I'm much more comfortable with Bengali, and I don't change my language or way of talking despite talking in English. Since my native language is determined by my society as a whole, It cannot be readily changed. If it were determined by immediate situation or surroundings, I would change it.

The second is culture, which is determined by our whole society and not frequently changes. For example, I, being a muslim, use to say prayers in mosque. When I travel to a non-muslim country, where is no mosque, I say prayers in any how. Though the present situation does not let me say prayers, I don't give up saying prayers, since It is built by my society as a whole.

In sum, in spite of some exceptions, which I presented above, People's attitudes are determined more by their society as a whole rather than their immediate situation or surroundings.