Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are many famous people who got succeeded in the field of their forte. The speaker, in the above prompt, argues that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade their student in pursuing a field where they are unlikely to succeed. It is partly true that, in many cases, students are not beneficial from pursuing a field in which they are unlikely to be successful. Thus, I mostly agree with author of that argument. And, in the next three paragraphs, I will explain, with examples, why this statement is partly true and what is the exception.

first of all, sometimes students do not know in which field they are good at. If institution, in this perspective, dissuade the students from pursuing a field they are unlikely to succeed, then its cost-benefit is much higher. Because, when they do not have a forte to pursue, the institution should persuade the students in making their on-going filed as their forte. Say, for instance, An undergraduate student of Economics, in his fresh year, tells his professor that she does not want to pursue that field because she is making bad grades in her exam. But, when professor galvanize her by saying that everyone struggles at the begining of everything and after their trying times they do well by working hard. Because of professor's inspiration that undergraduate student got a CGPA of 4.00 out 4.00. Thus, there are, as the above example, some cases where professors need to persuade them rather than dissuading.

However, history says that a student will not get successful in future in a field where they were unlikely to succeed in their school or college. For example, Bill Gates dropped from Harvard business school because he was unlikely to succeed in his school. And in the next time he got succeeded in another field. Therefore, institutions have a responsibility to dissuade the students in pursuing a field where they are unlikely to succeed.

Moreover, there are some kind of fields where to get succeed one needs to have a predilection for that subject. For instance, one cannot pursue in astronomical science or quantum mechanics without having a penchant for these subjects. because these subjects have some esoteric terms and equation that can perplex one mind or can dissuade him or her if she or he does not like or love that subject. In this type of situation, institutions need to dissuade them in pursuing the field.

In sum, though, in few cases, one is likely to succeed in the field where they were unlikely to succeed in school, most of the cases they fail in competing in job market.