According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

In the argument above, the advertising director, in a memo, recommends that Super Screen, a movie production company, should allocate a greater share of the budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. In claiming that the advertising director provides evidence that during the past year, despite positive reviews from critics of their movies, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies. Thus, he avers that problems are not with their movie quality, rather it is with public awareness. Though the argument is appealing, meticulous scrutiny of his argument reveals that the argument depends on some gratuitous assumptions, which further raise three questions.

Firstly, will the quality of their movies remain the same in the next year? Because the author assumes it so. But in assuming that he did not provide any evidence to bolster his assumption. It may be the case that the quality of their movies will be degraded in the next year. Perhaps, their movie quality is still poor. If it is the case, then the advertising director's argument will not hold water.

Secondly, are there any competing movie production companies in the town whose movie quality impresses the people? The author, in his argument, did not give any facts which could answer the question above. It is probable that there are some movie production companies that people like the most. Perhaps, their movie quality is far better than the Super Screen. If it is the case, then despite proper advertisements, their movies will not be likable to the public. It further reveals that the author's argument will fall apart.

Thirdly, is the taste of reviewers the same as that of the public? It is possible that the taste regarding movies of reviewers is different from that of the public. Perhaps, the public likes action movies whereas the company is making comedy movies that are likable to reviewers. If it is the case, then the author's argument will not be valid.

In conclusion, one, in evaluating the argument, needs to provide answers to these questions explained above. Otherwise, It would not be wise to take the author's recommendation.